Allergy – to tapes

20Dec07

I’ve just been in hospital to have surgery on my ankle, and when I got there the nursing staff asked me if I was allergic to anything. Oh, yes I said. I’m allergic to lots of things – nothing that will kill me, fortunately, but plently that will make my life uncomfortable.

Fortunately I’m not allergic to foods or drugs, but I am rather allergic to adhesive dressings and medical tapes.

What elastoplast?

Yes. And micropore, and transpore, and virtually every other kind of surgical/medical dressing that contains a glue to stick it on. Even the ones which are for people with sensitive skin, the hypoallergenic ones, make me come out in a hot, red itchy rash which lasts for a few days.   

Oh. Said the nurse. But we’re going to have to stick things to you during the surgery.

Yes, I said. I know. Please just don’t stick anything to me if you don’t have to, and if you do have to – try not to leave it in place for more than an hour.

Right, she said, and wandered off looking puzzled.  

She came back with a red ‘alert’ bracelet for me to wear, so that everyone who saw me knew what was wrong.

So I had my operation. They did as I asked (welcome to private health care!), and I didn’t have a reaction. The special clear-sticky thing that held my cannula (needle) into the back of my hand was the only thing I had on for a while (about 15 hours) – and as luck would have it – I didn’t react to it!!

Hurrah!!!

Meanwhile, my eczema patches (the ones on my tummy) are getting worse. Meh.  

2 Responses to “Allergy – to tapes”

  1. Hi there Drunkenspaniel,

    I have visited your blog several times. I found your blog to be interesting, so I happily write a review on yours. Please read it at http://eczemaclub.blogspot.com/2008/02/dry-patches-eczema-blog.html and tell me what you think!

    And oh, would you care to trade link with me? I already put a link to your blog in mine.

    Thanks. Cheers!

    ps: your other blog is also interesting. I’ll surely visit yours often

  2. Hi!

    I came from Indonesia.

    The eczema is actually better when my wife and I stayed in the UK for two years (in Wolverhampton, West Midlands). Returned from the UK, the eczema is there again. Oh, well… life goes on.

    Anyway, thanks for commenting on http://eczemaclub.blogspot.com


Leave a Reply

