Back from Holidays – a break from itching

26Apr09

Hi All – thanks for all your comments on my last topic. I’m still using the surcare washing liquid and it isn’t causing me any problems, so I’ll go on using it. I use non-bio too, but tend to stick to the surcare for my own clothes since they’re going to be in contact with my skin for longer.

The reason for the long break is I got married at the end of March, and had lots of other things on my mind! I wondered if the background stress was encouraging lots of extra dry itchy patches to appear, but having been away on holiday I’m not so sure now. 

We were very lucky, and after two years of saving, we went to Mauritius on holiday. The climate is hot and humid, but breezy, and just about suited me because I don’t do very well in extreme heat. I burn, I feel ill and I have to stick to the shade – and stick to the shade was what I did!!

We were only in Mauritius a week, but I didn’t itch or scratch while I was there, and most of my more troublesome patches started to heal up!! All I can think of was that it was a combination of: not wearing my jeans or any other heavy fabrics against my skin, constantly being warm and sweaty, having UV light on a lot more of my skin than normal, and swimming in sea-water.   Some or all of these factors helped – and it was like magic! Trouble is, I couldn’t have managed to stay in the heat for any longer than the week, but I definitely think it helped. Unfortunately, within days of being home to England, I was dry and itchy again. I have three new very annoying patches on my tummy which are waking me at night now. Meh.

I think I will try the following:

1) Try another emollient which contains urea – perhaps Eucerin as recommended by Jonat in my last post. Natural urea is found in sweat – so I wonder if it might help?

2) Buy some Piriton to take before bed. Piriton knocks me comatose if I take it in the day, but its a good anti-histamine and hopefully will help stop me waking in the night.  

3) Try to lay out in the sunshine in my swimsuit for 10 minutes if at all possible.

4) Avoid wearing Jeans. I’ve stuck to my lightweight trousers since I noticed the new patches appear.

5) I probably need to have at least one emollient bath a week, rather than relying on just a shower a day. My lower legs are incredibly dry from standing in the shower, so I should try to rehydrate them a bit. Not sure what with at this stage, but I’ll see what I can find.

Lets see how the programme goes.

How about you folks? Any tips?

29 Responses to “Back from Holidays – a break from itching”

  1. 1 Annie

    Congratulations on your marriage!! That’s wonderful!

    That’s great that your skin got better on vacation, despite the weather. Salt water tends to help my skin too, it almost feels like it helps it hold in water better. I have the same reaction as you to hot weather; itchy and ill and I hide in the shade.

  2. 2 Danielle

    Eucerin is always a great idea. However, I wanted to know if there’s anything else that helps? I’m not itchy, but dry patches keep popping up on my skin. At first it was just a few, but now, they’re everywhere and all over. Have you ever had anything like that happen to you?

    • 3 Annie

      I don’t get those patches everywhere, but my legs are perpetually covered in dry patches. Unfortunately I haven’t found anything that really helps those yet :/

  3. Congratulations on the wedding!

  4. 5 sarah

    I read a few very interesting articles about eczema at Child Eczema Free. My daughter has an eczema problem and I does not know much about the ins and outs of it. So I suggested the above website. My child skin problem seems to be getting better. I guess that knowing about what may be ailing you is half the battle!

  5. Hi all – I went for Aveeno instead of Eucerin. It is brilliant stuff – the oat and shea butter one. I’ve stayed away from the jeans, and I’m much better.

  6. Hi! Congratulations on the wedding! About your patches, I think the sea water really help on making the patches heal up.

  7. I just started on an antioxidant treatment, based on olive extracts. I’m trying it out to if it would help.

  8. 9 miako

    Hi nice article,
    For more infos on Eczema, i link this website very interisting :
    http://allergie-rhume-des-foins.blogspot.com/
    bye

  9. 10 jenstate

    So sorry you are dealing with eczema. Please take a look at http://www.biovedawellness.com and it’s BAX 3000 therapy. I have not finished the therapy yet, but the testimonials and local news stories on the website are very compelling for eczema symptom relief.
    Jennifer
    *sponsored post*

  10. Oh boy,
    I found out about a great product called Renew Lotion. A few of my relatives suffer from eczema real bad. I developed a website:http://www.eczemaandyourlife.com It is dedicated to getting the word out about both eczema and a way to mitigate or eliminate it all together. Check it out!!

  11. 12 john

    trry a bleech bath, just google it and it’s being recommended by dermatologists

    1/2 cup of bleech in a full tub and soak for 10 mins, kills bacteria on the skin that can start flareups

  12. Hi, Your blog content is very informative…looking forward for same kind of stuffs…
    Smart Natural Ways to Prevent Eczema

  13. John, would I trust a man who is suggesting I put corrosive chemicals on my skin that he can’t even spell? I think not!

  14. So, a holiday in Mauritius is not just only about fun. It was therapeutic for you too. It was well worth the wait and saving up for.

  15. 16 sandra

    Hi, I wondered if you had tried Aleppo soap? I have and it’s very gentle, it only contains olive oil and bay leaf oil so it is moisturising and mildly antiseptic, great for eczema and dry skin generally… I get it online from http://www.aleppogold.com and it is made in syria.

  16. I don’t do well in the heat or the sun, but that’s here in the UK where the heat is accompanied by humidity! I was told that if i went to a hot country that my eczema would disappear! I origionally come from a hot country and thinking about it now, my eczema only started getting worse when I came to the UK!

  17. Incidentally, I just wrote a post on what I did to keep my eczema under control, after a friend complimented me on my progress.
    http://ewnw.blogspot.com/2010/09/compliment.html

  18. I am suffering from contact dermatitis or chronic hives Im taking hydroxizine which makes me really tired. I cant figure out what the hell is causing this, been to the doctor, havent been to the dermatologist yet, but Ive heard alot of times theres nothing they can do with chronic hives anyway. thoughts ? suggestions?

  19. I like Vaseline Intensive rescue body lotion – twice a day once after my shower in the morning and once before bed, helps keep my eczema under control. Cutting down on showers overall helps too. I try and do every other day instead of every day if I can. Hot showers aggravate eczema but cool showers are so horrible!

  20. 21 Al

    Hey there,

    Wow…the Mauritius…lovely – both physically and mentally I imagine 😉

    My toddler son has been battling eczema since he was three months old. It is getting a little better now – he is now 15 months old. I’ve never experienced eczema, so whe it first appeared I really didn’t know what it was. I know lots now though. He doesn’t get it on his body anymore, but still has it on his face.

    For those of you wishing to read a new blog I started, please feel free to check it out:

    http://nico-laki.blogspot.com/

    Cheers
    Al

  21. The infected lollipops may also be needed. A condition known as congenital varicella syndrome,” or glandular fever, can be given febrifuge. Even if they have not had eczema herpeticum on hands disease; One years preferably 15 months all children Nursery and school staff have not been vaccinated for Rhinopneumonitis, but the drop was most significant among children. This can take from 6 to 10 weeks. In the five years before the vaccine nearly one in 10 pre-adolescent children would get Eczema Herpeticum On Hands every year.

  22. The quality of this double breasted trench coat with lightening speed Mulberry Bags Outlet and now I’m so contended like never before. I made an order for one of double breasted trench coat was not worse then mulberry bags free shipping of those ones I’d purchased in clothes stores.
    Women should wear a suit, or slacks or skirt and a business-type of blouse.
    That double breasted trench coat Mulberry Outlet UK will be keepeng mulberry bags free shipping her
    warm and protecting her from the cold weather.

  23. And then the fact that the Nfl Nike Jerseys did look into acquiring him, he’s not thought to be earning at USC.

  24. Fans Rise to the OccasionThe authentic nike jerseys is among the five NFL teams that have not made it to the practice squad Kansas
    City was rumored to be moving out of town.

  25. Everyone loves what you guys are up too. This sort of clever work
    and reporting! Keep up the very good works guys I’ve included you guys to my personal blogroll.

  26. Business pest manage expert services always supply
    to help you you deal with the pest harm efficiently.
    There is a ban on insecticides for the negative effects on the
    surroundings. If the pests are chewing biting pests that are ingesting
    plant tissues then the use of systematic insecticides will
    be the best solution for long term treatment.

  27. I’m impressed, I have to admit. Seldom do I come across a blog that’s
    equally educative and interesting, and without a doubt, you have hit the nail on the
    head. The problem is an issue that too few men and women are
    speaking intelligently about. Now i’m very happy I came
    across this during my hunt for something concerning
    this.

  28. 29 Kathie

    I have battled bad Eczema since infancy and foderma serum is the product that I’ve found that throughout harsh New York winters, never fails to calm my skin. I find that it’s even better than other products. If you have sensitive skin, definitely give it a try!


Leave a Reply

